Should I Issue the Card?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TimAZ

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
This should probably be in another forum, but I am a new instructor and not yet int he instructors forum. Besides, I like to get a good range of opinions. Regardless, last year an instructor no longer affiliated with my LDS taught an open water class for a particular customer. She just contacted us wanting to pick up her C-Card. The reason it has been so long is that she had a brain hemmorhage a week or two after the class and has been recovering. All the paperwork is in order and completed, so I feel like I am obligated to issue a card. On the other hand, without medical authorization, I wouldn't even let her start training now.

Fortunately, she was nice enough to agree, for my peace of mind if nothing else, to obtain authorization from her neurologist before picking up her card. Since it has been so long since her class, I in turn am letting her audit one of my open water classes.

The question is - If she demanded the card, would I be obligated to issue one because she successfully completed the course, or be obligated not to - being aware of her medical condition?:huh:

Well since the course was paid for and completed. I would think you would have to issue the card. Of course you did have the right to request that her medical file be updated with a DR.'s consent form.

Glad it worked out for everybody.