Total newbie here to learn from Guelph, Ontario Canada

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Zoodles95

New
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
My wife and I visit the Caribbean yearly and snorkel together. For years I have thought about taking up SCUBA diving and did one of those "discover SCUBA" dives with my wife. I loved it and have wanted to take this up. We just came back from Cozumel and snorkeled 4 out of the 7 days and it would have been great to have had the knowledge and experience to have seen some of the things that qualified divers I met saw in their dives whom I spoke with.

So, I will be reading up on the boards here to learn and to ask in a regional forum about recommened schools/dive shops in my area (there are 3 main ones I see).

PADI versus SSI? These are the sorts of things I will be pondering as I start this journey.

Welcome from N.S. I've read that there is very little difference in those two agencies. Many will say that it is the instructor that makes the difference and suggest you seek out the one whose teaching style fits you best. Of course, there is distance to dive shop and scheduling convenience too. I don't know of any students who had an idea of which of the 16 instructors at are shop would be the one they got. Good luck with the course. I always advise studying up a lot beforehand, and of course finishing the e learning well before meeting the instructor if you do e learning.

Welcome!