Travel BP&W Setup $500 budget

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Josh Edmond

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Not to beat a dead horse but...I'd like some opinion on a travel plate wing setup. I'm fairly new to diving and have quickly realized the superiority of bp&w. Let me know, with specific details, what plate, harness or just webbing, wing, and accessories you would put together for a singles travel setup. I'd like an AL plate and whatever else you recommend. Also, I would like to keep it at $500 or less. I've considered buying the Mares XR Singles package setup, but I think with the proper advice I could probably have a better setup for less cash. I'm looking for something fairly light and comfortable that gets the job done. Including the ability to dive in colder water occasionally. Additionally, weight recommendation. Weight belt, quick release pockets, tank band weights? Thank you for your consideration on the matter. Any help would be greatly appreciated, all opinions on brands, styles, and biases are welcome.

I recommend the Dive Gear Express package. It ticks all your blocks at a budget friendly price. If you want weight pockets you can add in the dive rite qd pouches, they work well.

Mares is nice but you will pay a premium for their name.

-Z

I would second the DGX package.

DW

VDH 23lb wing (I personally use 18lb for travel and 40lb for drysuit cold weather)
Hog ally plate
Halcyon harness and hardware
Hog cam bands with plastic buckles
Cressi rubber weight belt