What Thickness Wetsuit Do My Fellow Texans Wear?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AnyaPetrova

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello all!

I'm brand new to scuba, and the forum, but definitely not Texas! I was born in Houston, lived in Austin, and go to school in San Antonio! But one thing I don't know is what thickness wetsuit I ought to use for Texas dives. I know its a very personal preference type of thing, but I'd love to hear what you are wearing yourself! (And where you dive). Thanks so much! And I'm sorry in advance for all my silly beginner questions :D

Anya!

Welcome to ScubaBoard!

I only have two wetsuits: a 2mm shorty and a 5/4/3mm full wetsuit. I rarely use the shorty anywhere but in the pool. I use the 5/4/3 in the spring and fall, a drysuit in the winter, and dive with no thermal protection in the summer. We mainly dive Lake Travis and the surrounding areas.

A lot of the more cold tolerant people out there dive 3mm full suits or no suit from spring through fall.

Welcome to both scubaboard and scubadiving :D

I find my 4/3 full suit is fine for most of my diving in Texas rivers, lakes, out to gulf, and other assorted mudholes I stray into. I also have a 5/3 hooded vest I use to supplement when my 4/3 is not enough. Works good for me.