How to get familiar with my computer?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

WetSEAL

Contributor
Reaction score
I got an Aeries XR1 dive computer basically for free. This is my first dive computer (I have never used one before). It's in like new condition and came with all the original manuals and paperwork etc. I know it's not the latest and greatest, but then again I didn't spend hundreds or thousands of dollars on it -- and I wanted to get familiar with a basic computer to get a better sense of how I use it, what really matters to me, etc, before I do spend a ton of money.

This computer has a single button interface, and I'm finding it very confusing. I've tried reading through the manual but it's very confusing and doesn't always seem to match what the computer is doing. I have a feeling this is going to take me MANY hours of fiddling around to get comfortable with it. However, when I turn it on out of the water, the screen is changing quickly and seems to display numbers that don't make any sense (eg, changing depth values). I think this is because it's in "surface mode" and that basically prevents me from learning how to use it.