Oceanlog 2.3.0 SUCKS

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AndyDragon

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Well, if you set out to release the most un-usable and un-friendly version of Oceanlog to date...mission accomplished. This latest version consistantly looses information, wants to install itself every second time I use it and what's with the idiotic debug beeping in the background while downloading? This is terrible software development (and I should know, I'm a software developer for a "major software company").

I've always been a huge supporter of Oceanic dive computers...4 out of 4 divers in my household use them. As an instructor I always advise students they can't go wrong with the great engineering excellence of an Oceanic dive computer. Too bad this excellence is hampered by crap software. Either fire that VB hack developer and rewrite the software from the ground up and/or release the download protocols so people who CAN write useful software (like Sven, author of Diving Log) can add direct download to real log software and I can continue to recomment your excellent hardware to others.

After all, there's only a finite amount of bad UI, bad data handling and bad UX that anyone can stand before moving on to something else out of sheet necessity.

I agree. I've been writing software for 25+ years and am frustrated with a piece of software that qualifies as "user vicious."