Tips for novice divers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Cheizz

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am not an expert diver. I am a novice diver myself that has gone through some training, gear purchase processes and made some general choices. Some of those were bad choices that I have now corrected. Some of it was trial and error - I can say that in hindsight since at the time I wasn’t aware that it was a trial until I made the error. I will just share some of those experiences with you. Maybe it can help you prevent making the same mistakes I made.

Training
I did my Open Water course in the Netherlands, where I live. I signed up at a PADI dive school and did all the things you are supposed to do during an Open Water class. The four open water dives we did in May, in murky waters (visibility 3-5 meters) of about 11 degrees (Celcius). In a thick and cumbersome 7 mm wetsuit, 5 mm gloves we did all the required skills. And I can tell you: if you can do them in those conditions, you can more or less do them anywhere.