Very afraid to start to learn to Dive~

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi.:idk: I am NEW to diving, still on the academic portion thru PADI on line course. I am doing this on my own and have no diving partner. I met a couple in Cozumel years ago and we still email and so I possibly have friends to dive with but that is not my fear or worry. Thought about diving for years but never did it. I have not even snorkled. Im completely new and completely afraid. I have started an on line open water dive course thru PADI. I will take in water class when I get thru it I get anxious and nervous just watching the little videos on clearing the mask and if your mask falls off.:depressed: Already I am waking up and afraid that I will drown, hold my breath or not be able to go thru with it. Can anyone relate? Right now I feel like I wont be able to go thru with it so I thought I d better jump on board and express my fears and hear how others got over there fear. I do want to conquer the fear. I have always held my breath when I swim. Im not a huge fan of swimming but I can and I can tread for long periods. I just learned that holding your breath is dangerous which has added to my fear since I hold my breath. Is there hope for me!LOL! Im not giving up yet, Im just really insecure and afraid and want to hear if anyone else was theis nervous and afraid. So~~ hello to the underwater world of divers.. cindy~ PS since I am a flight attendant< i can fly anywhere free.. now that is a beautiful thing!!