Wet Suit for Cold Water

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

GreyIII

Reaction score
I'm very new to diving and am looking at buying a 7mm wet suit.

However, I don't know much about the different brands and styles.

Is there a performance difference between BARE wet suits and Akona or Scubapro? I'm on a limited budget but don't want to buy the less expensive wet suit only to have to respend the money because it's crap.

Any suggestions on brands and styles would be appreciated.

I can't speak about the brands, but, I do dive with a 7mm farmer john style. It's the only way to go in cold water if you can't go with a dry suit. I know some that have the 7mm semi dry suits, but they are not 100% dry, therefore they are semi wet too. Difference is, the farmer john actually gives you 14mm of nice warm protection in the middle of your body where you need it most because it is two pieces.

GreyIII:
I'm very new to diving and am looking at buying a 7mm wet suit.

However, I don't know much about the different brands and styles.

Is there a performance difference between BARE wet suits and Akona or Scubapro? I'm on a limited budget but don't want to buy the less expensive wet suit only to have to respend the money because it's crap.

Any suggestions on brands and styles would be appreciated.