Fins, Fins and more Fins!!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dbteel

Reaction score
I may be opening a can of worms here but I am interested in you readers input since y'all appear pretty knowledgeable. I am looking to buy my first pair of open heel fins. My question is...is it worth springing for the new split fins (ie. scubapro twin jets) or stay with more conventional designs... Mares Avanti Quattro's - these are the fins my diving friends say are the gold standard.

I am relatively new to diving-but will be diving in current as well as calm, cold and warm water. Recreationl primarily. I am not interested in speed but efficiency and comfort are considerations.

Thanks for you input.

dbteel,

If your gonna dive in currents then I would go with the Quattros because they move a large volume of water giving you the propulsion needed to get through the current. The split fins your limited on diffrent types of fin kicks but are great in calm waters and will perform in slight currents. The split fins do reduce the amount of effort needed to move through the water thus giving you a little bit more bottom time due to less air comsumption. Overall if you can afford it get a pair of split fins and a pair of Quattros but if you can just get one pair I would get the Quattros. It all depends on the type of diving you're gonna be doing. Thats my .02 and I hope this helps.

Aaron