Mares Volo Or Apollo's ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

z28pwr

Reaction score
Well you guys convinced me on buying a good set of fins and mask therefore I'm getting the Oceanic Shadow but I'm debating fins between the Mares Volo and the Apollo's.

I want to buy them from the local Dive shop since they are letting me try them out and their price's aren't that bad.

They have the Mares Volo for $149 and the Apollo's for $179.

Only problem is I don't know which one to get I'm new at scuba therefore I have no idea which one would be better then the other. I'm going to see if they will let me try them out in the pool before I decide on one.

Only thing I hear is that the Apollo is not a padle style fin and will let you swim further with less oxygen.

I tried them both on today and felt more comfortable with the Volo's and really like their locking mechanism.

Any feedback would be apreciated.

Thanks.

Get something that does not cost so much. The old Plana Avanti would be fine.

Let me guess, you are a Chevy man.

If you only have these two choices, go for the volos, may look flimsy but its enough to propel you through the water with twin tanks on.

The mares locking mechanism is great but Stainless steel spring heel straps are even better. I think leisurepro has em and they are compatible with mares products too.