mask squeeze

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

microdiver

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to the diving experience and am having a great time. I recently had a problem with mask squeeze and would like some input. I have been about 2 weeks healing from my mishap, my eyes are just about back to normal. My question is: Will this accident at all predispose me to a future problem? I purchased a new mask and I guess I had it adjusted a little tight. Could someone give me some suggestions as to how to know for sure that my mask will fit properly on my next dive? I know that I have to be sure to equalize my mask on my descent but any suggestions as to where to start the adjustment? ie: should my mask strap be loose when not under water? Should it be "just tight enough" that when I disembark from the boat I'd have to hang on to it of lose it?? Get where I'm going with this.? I just need a little help, I don't want to repeat this mistake. I'ts very embarrassing.:06:

I'm sure others will give you a better answer than I'll be able to, but make it tight enough to be comfortable and seal the water out. If the frame's touching you anywhere, it's probably too tight. The skirt of the mask should be snug against your face so that a strong current won't knock it off, but again, you don't want it cutting off circulation.