Physics experiments underwater?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

krikdiver

New
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I'm a science teacher on Kwajalein Island, of the Republic of Marshall Islands. I teach 7th grade Earth Science, 10th chemistry, 11th physics, and 12th zoology. The reason I've joined scubaboard.com is to get ideas from all of you for some underwater activities for my students.

A surprisingly small number of students are scuba certified, but this year, all three of my physics students (super small class!) have their open water ceritifcations. One of my colleagues is a dive master, and I have my Advanced Cert, so I'd really like to take the students underwater to perform some experiments.

What I am asking from the scuba forum is this: Any and ALL ideas for underwater physics experiments! Some of our units include: Linear/Projectile motion (just finished both of those), Newton's Laws, circular motion and rotational mechanics, properties of matter (I already have lots of ideas for the gas laws!), sound, light, electricity, and magnetism.

We don't really have any limitations. I can take these girls (with the assistance of my divemaster colleague) to go night diving any time, we can go in the pool, we can go into big sandy expanses in the lagoon... but I'm figuring this is my only chance to take a physics class underwater.

Thank you for your ideas!!