recommendations for multiuse BCD

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Katch

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I've been using my Tusa Platina for about 5 years with about 200 dives. I'm looking to replace it with something that can be configured with either a single or doubles; and, can grow with me as I start into some Tec courses. I prefer back mounted tanks as my preferences are more toward wrecks over cave diving.

Are there many BCD's out there that can be configured in such a multi-use way? I've seen the Dive Rite Transpac XT. What others should I consider?

My Tusa just doesn't have enough features for moving into Tec. There wasn't enough d-ring placements for a 40cf pony when I got my solo cert. A back plate/wing would be much more useful.

Thanks for the recommendations...
:cheers:
Steve

Deep Sea Supply, call them. Buy what Tobin tells you to. Nothing will work well for singles and doubles as far as a wing goes, so you have to buy both. He may cut you a deal if you buy both at the same time.

Transpac XT is bad for where you are, I have 2, love them, but up in the cold water you want weight, and SS is the best way to get it.

Yup BP/W is what you want. And also what tbone also said about DSS.

If you are planning to go into tech in the future, the back plate/wing is definitely what you want. It is the ultimate in versatility.