Sobering dive tonight.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kaffphine

Reaction score
I'm just getting started in cold water diving...with a dry suit, first one was this Sunday. Tonight I went out with a group of usuals to a local quarry, water temp 42F air not much more than that. Now since I had done a lot of night diving before, I didn't think making one of my first dives up here night was going to be a big deal. The guy I was diving with knows that I'm just getting into cold water and the drysuit, in fact he tagged along Sunday. For the most part the dive went as would be expected, I played with boyancy ...went up went down went back down still don't have it. We set limits of 45min, 1000psi or until I got cold. There's a difference between being cold from your hood flooding and being cold that you're coming up. I need to find out where that is. about 30 mins into the dive I was cold and decided to call time up, with my light in hand I couldn't use that hand to sign 'time'. So instead I told him that I reached the air limit and it was time to come up, somthing I could do with one hand and still use the light to lumiant what I was signing. This is point number one of things that didn't set well with me about tonight, although I found another way to let him know what I wanted us to do I couldn't let him know WHY. There a set of stairs to exit from, apon getting there I tried to take off my fins and realized I couldn't feel anything. Now, not being use to thick gloves I can't really feel what I'm doing underwater with