Fin suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Kwajsmile

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
I am getting ready to take the open water cert class but, am having a hard time finding fins that are comfortable. My dive shop has a good variety; however, the fins either smoosh my toes or rub up against my ankle anteriorly. I've purchased Mares Classic dive boots and as I'm just getting started I don't know if there are a particular brand and or type of fin that would combine well with them for a comfortable dive experience. I am a woman with narrow feet and kind of high arches. My first pair of boots did not fit snug and paired with the Aqualung fins I originally bought and tried to snorkel with, my legs and feet hurt and I couldn't get any propulsion. Are there fins made for skinny female feet? Any advice appreciated!

A lot of discomfort with fins can be corrected with technique. Imagine skipping in a field. That's the motion you want to fin in. Keep your knees & ankles fluid and firm; not rigid/locked and not floppy/loose.
If your discomfort with the fins comes only when you start kicking, most likely it's not the fin, it's your kicking technique.

Most common mistake is to kick like you're climbing stairs or riding a bicycle. That kick technique does not propel you using the fins, it propels you by displacing water which you can do without fins. Obviously you lose out any speed & enegery efficiency the fins could give you.