Fashion tips and Faux Pas

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bobbin-along

Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I was at the local site last weekend and as I was getting in the water some uber-brat standing beside me looks over and says "Bright Enough Gear?" and continues gearing up. Being a slow wit I didn't have a snapy response and spent the rest of the day rather annoyed that some toad would make a comment about my ensemble. It did seem rude, but hey I'm new to diving maybe I missed color coordination 101 in the courseware somewhere. I wear a blue dry suit, yellow fins, unpainted tank, black BC, hood, gloves. While not black and stealthy the combination seems to keep me dry, breathing, and underwater.

Has anyone here ever made a comment to a stranger regarding their gear colors and why?

I was in WA last weekend and this girl was wearing a blue dry suit, yellow fins, unpainted tank, black BC, hood, gloves, I just had to point out how bright the gear was...

hehe j/k :)

Don't worry about it. Some people have nothing better to do than dump on another persons day.

Nothing surprises me any more since I heard that there is at least one SB Member with a pink backplate...

Hah, hah!

Welcome to Pacific Northwest diving. You can always just smile and remember that they are total losers... Also, never opologize for yellow fins, many instructors and divemasters use them, as do I.