No Ditchable weights?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

quonniediver

Registered
Reaction score
I am a newbie with a half a dozen dives. I have a buddie who is just certified also. He dives a BP/wing with a steel tank. We dive in New England so we use a 6.5 mil wetsuit. He attaches some weight to the back plate but it isn't ditchable, he doesn't need a weight belt because of this. Is this safe? I always thought you needed at least a little weight on a belt to get positive. Is the only way to get him bouyant in an emergency by filling his wing? Does this seem correct?

on what configuration is used. i dive doubles and i dont need any additional weight, so i have no ditchable weight unless you consider a cannister light ditchable weight of course. but i dive a drysuit so its bouyancy doesnt change much. with a wetsuit that can be very different and having some ditchable weight is necessary. if the emergency is that he is OOA than the only way to inflate his wing is by doing it orally. if i were in a wetsuit i'd probably want some ditchable weight, if only to get mor epositive on the surface, ditching a lot of weight at depth is not a good idea.

Does your buddy have any other means of bouyancy? Would he be able to swim up his gear if his wing failed? I personally wouldn't dive with weights attached to my bp where I would be unable to ditch them. Is he opposed to using a weight belt. What about getting weigh pockets for his harness?