Do I need cold water regulators for recreational diving in the uk

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Sherwoodranger

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all I am new to diving and just recently passed my SSI open water course. Just looking into buying my first regulators but because of all the different specifications and the fact most of my diving will be in uk inland and coastal waters between the months of April to October I was wondering if I need cold water regulators. I have dived at stoney cove and capenwray in September with school equipment without problems but wondered if this was ok on a long term basis or was I being led on by selling hype.

Yes.

The sea in April is about 8C. Inland sites are very often colder. Freeflows are pretty common. The sealed, cold water regs help but do not completely cure the problem.

They are not much more expensive, get something like an Apeks DS4 (first stage) and ATX40 (second stages).

Ken

Apeks ATX 40 second stage x 2 and a DS-4 first stage, plus a single brass and glass SPG. It will be all you need, and should come in around the £250-£300 mark. I've had mine for in water down to 2*C, easy to get serviced, and breathe well. Internally, they are the same as the higher end apeks models.

I haven't had any free flows in 11 years with my old (bought then used) Mares reg. Maybe just lucky. Nova Scotia waters are probably the same as UK, even up in the Orkneys. Winter waters here approach freezing. But I suppose every reg. differs. I have kept it well maintained.