How Can I Try a BP/W Setup?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

skubadad

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've been diving for over 10 years now and I'm considering switching from a traditional BCD to the BP/W design. I like the idea of less bulk and more streamlined. I've done a little research and folks seem to be very pleased with the DSS gear. I am however concerned about the comfort of a BP/W. I have no plans to do any tech diving, so is it even practical for me to switch to this setup?

Tobin...is there a dive shop in Alabama that carries your gear. I'd very much like to see it up close and try it on. Ideally I'd like to dive with it but I'd be satisfied with just trying in on in a dive shop.

For those that switched from a traditional BCD to this design, why did you switch and are you happy?

Marc

I am a recreational diver who switched for the same reasons you're thinking of, i.e., streamlining. I am very happy that I did and I love my DSS rig. I've also found it to be more stable and really help with horizontal trim. If you can find one to borrow and try while actually diving, definitely do it - don't base you decision on how it feels on land, especially with a Hogarthian harness. I bought mine, however, without ever trying one previously. Some people feel they are slightly less comfortable on land than a jacket, though this is not the case for me. Underwater you don't even know it's there. Too bad you're in Alabama or you could try mine.:D

Cheers,
Lilla